POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Discuss wacky weather and other wacky stuff here
User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by Loco101 » Sun May 11, 2014 8:59 pm

Power is currently out is South Porcupine and Porcupine. Noticed a Hydro One crew on Rae Hill and a downed power line. It appears as though they may have had to replace a post.

From Hydro One's outage board:

Outage
Incident Id: 4126114
Customers Affected: 2,835
Crew Status: Crew Working in Area
Cause: Unknown
Estimated Restoration: May 12, 12:45 AM

Link: Hydro One Storm Center

User avatar
DenBen
VIP
VIP
Posts: 13258
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:57 pm
Gender: Male
Age: 45

Post by DenBen » Sun May 11, 2014 10:39 pm

[like on making this an official thread.
Back up now... [woohoo

Observations: What is the point of the Mobile HydroOne App? When the power goes out, the cell towers won't let data through, at least from what I have seen. So how can I check the status of an outage that I'm in.
[confused

Also, I was on my PC when the power went out, posted on FB then shut it down. I kept my Cable Gateway/WiFi modem running through the UPS until it died, about an hour later. Had internet during that time, via the Eastlink's cable connection to my phone. The original number of customer affected was 1,599. I did see the number bump up later.

User avatar
Riskynet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 22891
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:54 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 57

Post by Riskynet » Sun May 11, 2014 11:11 pm

Observations: What is the point of the Mobile HydroOne App? When the power goes out, the cell towers won't let data through, at least from what I have seen. So how can I check the status of an outage that I'm in.

This App does work very well. Twice this year that the power was out in SRF's but my cellphone worked.

User avatar
Budgetman
Admin
Admin
Posts: 27537
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:00 am
Gender: Male
Age: 46

Post by Budgetman » Mon May 12, 2014 12:25 am

wasn't out at my place
[watch
Image I say my opinion if its good bad or other, Just like you I have the right to voice it.
if you get paid minimum wage, it's like your boss saying i'd pay you less but its illegal
John Stalks me!!!!! [panic

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

Post by Loco101 » Mon May 12, 2014 1:02 am

I thought it was pretty much all of SoPo and Porc so that's interesting that your power stayed on.

During past power outages, if they happened during the evening, I have a big backup battery that I bought at CdnTire that I plug my laptop, modem and wireless router into. Internet works fine as I have Eastlink.

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

Post by Loco101 » Mon May 12, 2014 1:04 am

DenBen wrote: [like on making this an official thread.


Thanks for your support. We've had a number of power outage threads over the years. When I get the time I may merge the past ones with this one.

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

Post by Loco101 » Tue May 20, 2014 6:56 pm

Power just went out here in Melrose for about 5 seconds. Did it for anybody else?

User avatar
Red Squirrel
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:45 pm
Gender: None specified
Age: 32

Post by Red Squirrel » Tue May 20, 2014 7:01 pm

Yep same here. Melrose area.

Now I hear sirens and fire truck horns. Lots of them. [panic
Image

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

Post by Loco101 » Tue May 20, 2014 7:14 pm

I didn't hear anything but I was downstairs. I'm heading out for an hour or two so I'll report if I see anything.

Nothing on the Hydro One outage board so far.

JohnW
Gender: None specified

Post by JohnW » Tue May 20, 2014 7:56 pm

Yup, just long enough to turn off the computer and digital clocks and what not. [swear

User avatar
DenBen
VIP
VIP
Posts: 13258
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:57 pm
Gender: Male
Age: 45

Post by DenBen » Tue May 20, 2014 9:24 pm

5 seconds???? [aah

User avatar
Red Squirrel
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:45 pm
Gender: None specified
Age: 32

Post by Red Squirrel » Tue May 20, 2014 9:33 pm

I have several UPSes throughout the house. There was a harmony of beeping during that 5 seconds but the computers stayed up. [teehee
Image

User avatar
Captain Steubings
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 8479
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:34 pm
Gender: None specified

Post by Captain Steubings » Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:02 pm

The 2nd planned power outage of the summer is going to be happening this weekend downtown as Hydro One is continuing work. Sunday from 8am to about 6pm there will be no power in the downtown core.

User avatar
Riskynet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 22891
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:54 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 57

Post by Riskynet » Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:36 pm

10 hours of no power....doesn't that screw up your meat in your freezer ?

User avatar
DenBen
VIP
VIP
Posts: 13258
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:57 pm
Gender: Male
Age: 45

Post by DenBen » Sat Jun 21, 2014 3:05 pm

No, most freezers can go 12 hours without power as long as you keep it closed at all times.

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

Post by Loco101 » Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:31 pm

Captain Steubings wrote:The 2nd planned power outage of the summer is going to be happening this weekend downtown as Hydro One is continuing work. Sunday from 8am to about 6pm there will be no power in the downtown core.
The last time we ate at Osaka it we sat beside the owners of Golden Dragon restaurant. It was funny because they told us they were forced to keep their restaurant closed because of the power outage. They were actually quite happy because they got an evening out together and the day off which doesn't happen much for them. They also could speak in their first language with most of the servers at Osaka.

User avatar
Captain Steubings
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 8479
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:34 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by Captain Steubings » Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:28 pm

NEWS RELEASE
HYDRO ONE

*************************
Zone: 6 Northeast

Operations Centers: Timmins

Affected Areas: DELORO, OGDEN, TIMMINS, TISDALE, MOUNTJOY

Interruption Date(s) and Time(s):

Sunday, February 8, 2015 from 7:30 until 8 a.m. (0.5 hours), 4961 Customers

Alternate Date: Sunday, February 15, 2015

For up-to-date power interruption information on Hydro One’s Distribution System, please click on the following link, Power Outage Viewer, or download the HydroOne Mobile App.

*************************

JohnW
Gender: None specified

Re: POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by JohnW » Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:07 pm

[angry

User avatar
Captain Steubings
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 8479
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:34 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by Captain Steubings » Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:54 pm

Ah, so thirty minutes without hockey posts? :)

User avatar
DenBen
VIP
VIP
Posts: 13258
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:57 pm
Gender: Male
Age: 45

Re: POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by DenBen » Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:05 pm

[woohoo

JohnW
Gender: None specified

Re: POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by JohnW » Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:04 am

JH is tied for #1 in Flames goals.

User avatar
Loco101
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:26 am
Gender: None specified
Age: 42

POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by Loco101 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:01 am

Power currently out in much of downtown. I was sent home from work for an hour or two. There was flooding in one of those underground transformer boxes on Cedar. Lots of Hydro One and pump trucks there. Estimated restoration time is 11am but it hasn't come back on last I've heard.

User avatar
DenBen
VIP
VIP
Posts: 13258
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:57 pm
Gender: Male
Age: 45

POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by DenBen » Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:06 am

[dumb

I thought they were supposed to move all the hydro stuff above ground????????????

JohnW
Gender: None specified

POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by JohnW » Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:28 am

Other way around isn't it?

User avatar
Captain Steubings
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 8479
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:34 pm
Gender: None specified

POWER Outage / Blackout Reports - tT official thread

Post by Captain Steubings » Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:24 pm

From Moose FM:


Image

Image

Image

Post Reply

Social Media